Art in the town

Pics

Pics

Presentation

Istres has an ambitious cultural and artistic policy. The public areas in Istres have been taken over by internationally renowned artists. You can discover magnificent works all over the region: Daniel Buren’s Grande Diagonale, Ben signs or the Art'bribus.

A MONUMENTAL WORK BY DANIEL BUREN

Discover Daniel Buren’s monumental work ‘La grande Diagonale, work in situ in two colours, with black and white’ which stretches over 160 metres on the esplanade Bernardin Laugier, in front of Istres town hall. It is an alignment of 57 pillars from 114 to 505 cm in height, which play with the slope and the length of the esplanade.
  •  - © Two Black Cameras

LES ART'BRIBUS (BUS STOP ART): WORKS OF ART LIKE BUS SHELTERS

In Istres, there is an urban artistic trail where internationally renowned artists have given a whole new look to the bus shelters. Creations in the living environment, part of everyday life, which give everyone access to art.

  •  - © Service Communication ville d'Istres

PANNEAUX DE BEN

Two Istrean sites have been chosen for a panel designed by BEN, a globally renowned artist, known for his writing. One panel is situated near the Pavillon de Grignan and reads 'La Pensée est libre' ('Thought is Free'). On the other, on Marie Mauron Square, the artist has written the words 'Etre soi meme' ('To Be Oneself') on one side and 'La différence est une chance' ('We Are Lucky to Have Difference') on the other. These panels are sure to intrigue passers-by and lead people to reflect on their meanings for themselves. It’s also an opportunity for a selfie.

AN UNUSUAL, ARTISTIC UNIVERSE ART ZOO

An extraordinary world where art takes you on an unusual adventure. Take the paths through the park near the etang de l’Olivier and meet these twelve extraordinary animals: Safa the Giraffe, Ibérico the Bull and, of course, Michka the Bear! This artistic zoo gives pride of place to local artists who have given the animals a new look.
The panels provide lots of information, but you can use the QR codes, like the NFC tags, with your smartphone to continue the adventure.

  •  - © Service Communication ville d'Istres

SEA URCHINS FLOATING ON THE ETANG DE L'OLIVIER

In the Castellan cove, on the etang de l'Olivier, you can admire Daniel Zanca’s floating sea urchins. A series of hollow fibreglass sea urchin sculptures, 2.20 m in diameter, produced in a very realistic manner, have been installed on the lagoon. 

  •  - © Service Communication ville d'Istres

Visits and guided tours all year round

Please note that visits to his works are scheduled throughout the year and can be organised on request. Also, exhibitions and workshops, both free and paid, are organised throughout the year for the largest audience possible.
For more information, please contact the Tourist Office or Sylvie Villette on +33 (0)6 33 41 44 61 - mediation.scruzellevilette@istres.fr

We also suggest...
+33 4 42 81 76 00

L'Art dans la Ville

Photos

Photos

Présentation

La ville d’Istres met en œuvre une politique culturelle et artistique ambitieuse. L'espace public istreeen a été investit par des artistes de renommées internationales. Vous pouvez y découvrir des oeuvres magnifiques sur l'ensemble du territoire : Daniel Buren et sa grande diagonale, les panneaux de Ben ou encore les Art'bribus.

UNE OEUVRE MONUMENTALE SIGNEE DANIEL BUREN

Découvrez l’œuvre monumentale de Daniel Buren "La grande Diagonale, travail in situ pour deux couleurs, plus le blanc et le noir" qui s'étend sur 160 mètres sur l’esplanade Bernardin Laugier, donnant sur l’hôtel de ville d’Istres. Elle donne à voir un alignement de 57 piliers de 114 à 505 cm de hauteur, jouant avec la déclivité et l’échelle de l’esplanade.

  • La Grande Diagonale de Daniel Buren à Istres

LES ART'BRIBUS : DES OEUVRES D'ART COMME ABRIS BUS

A Istres, vous pouvez découvrir un parcours artistique et urbain où des artistes de renommée internationale ont investi la vie urbaine en relookant les abris bus. Des créations dans le cadre de vie, au plus près du quotidien, qui permettent à tous les publics de contempler des œuvres d’art.

  • Les Art'Bribus à Istres

LES PANNEAUX DE BEN

Deux sites istréens accueillent un panneau conçu par l'artiste mondialement connu pour ses écritures, BEN. Le premier a été placé au pavillon de Grignan où on peut lire "La pensée est libre" et le second au square Marie Mauron sur lequel l'artiste a écrit d'un côté "Être soi-même" et de l'autre "La différence est une chance". Ces panneaux ne manqueront pas d'intriguer et d'ouvrir pour tout un chacun un champ de réflexion. Une occasion également de se photographier près de ces œuvres.

UN UNIVERS INSOLITE ET ARTISTIQUE : ART ZOO

Un monde extraordinaire où l’art vous fait vivre une aventure insolite. Empruntez les chemins du Parc près de l’étang de l’Olivier et faîtes connaissance avec ces douze animaux hors du commun : Safa la Girafe, Ibérico le Taureau ou bien encore Michka l'Ours ! Ce bestiaire artistique donne la part belle aux artistes locaux qui ont relookés ces animaux.
Les pupitres vous apportent déjà de nombreuses informations mais vous pouvez aller encore plus loin dans l'expérience grâce à votre smartphone en utilisant les QR code comme les tags NFC situés sur les pupitres

  • L'Art Zoo Istres, bestiaire artistique et intéractif

DES OURSINS FLOTTANTS SUR L'ETANG DE L'OLIVIER

Dans l'anse du Castellan, sur l'étang de l'Olivier, vous pouvez admirer les oursins flottants de Daniel Zanca. Une série de sculptures d’oursins creux de 2.20 m de diamètre, élaborées de manière très réaliste, en fibre de verre, ont été implantées sur l'étang. 

  • Les oursins flottants de Daniel Zanca

Visites et médiation toute l’année

A noter que des visites de ses œuvres sont programmées dans l'année et peuvent être organisées sur demande. D'autre part, des expositions, workshops et ateliers gratuits accessibles au plus grand nombre sont également organisés toute l'année.
Renseignement à l'Office de Tourisme et auprès de Sylvie Villette, 06 33 41 44 61 – mediation.scruzellevilette@istres.fr

À voir également
04 42 81 76 00